Help to Grow: Management course

Help to Grow logo

The government-backed Help to Grow: Management course will open the door to growth for thousands of business leaders. Aimed at senior leaders in small and medium businesses it includes 50 hours of in depth training, 1:1 business mentoring, and the opportunity to grow your business, fast. The 12-week programme is 90% funded by the government so you only pay £750.

Find start dates


What is help to grow?

Help to Grow is a 12 week-programme delivered by Leeds University Business School and accredited by the Small Business Charter. The programme combines a practical curriculum, with 1:1 support from a business mentor, peer-learning sessions and an alumni network.

Designed to be manageable alongside full-time work, this programme will support you to develop your strategic skills with key modules covering financial management, innovation and digital adoption. By the end of the programme you will develop a tailored business growth plan to lead your business to its full potential. You will hear from inspirational business leaders and learn alongside local peers, with access to a national alumni network.

Who can take part?

Aimed at senior leaders in small and medium businesses from any sector that have been operating for more than 1 year, with between 5 to 249 employees are eligible.

What is the cost?

The programme is 90% subsidised by government – costing only £750.

Watch our video

<iframe title="Help to Grow: Management course" width="450" height="300" frameborder="0" scrolling="auto" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="https://mymedia.leeds.ac.uk/Mediasite/Play/40eaa46877c34fafa40b4aeae84a09381d" allowfullscreen msallowfullscreen allow="fullscreen"></iframe>

Format

The programme takes 12 weeks to complete and consists of one half-day session per week delivered through a mixture of online and in person (7 online and 5 in-person).

What are the benefits to me?

  • Enhance your management and strategic capabilities
  • Produce a growth plan for your business
  • Build resilience to future shocks
  • Learn how to innovate in your business
  • Adopt digital technologies to boost productivity and operational agility
  • Develop your value proposition and reach into growth markets
  • Improve employee engagement and responsible business practices
  • A blended programme that combines interactive, online sessions with face-to-face learning to suit you

Apply online

The following courses run by Leeds Univesity Business School are now open for applications.

Register for course starting on Monday 10 January 2022 (Leeds) – Fully booked, please refer to other dates

Seven online sessions, and five face to face sessions at Nexus - University of Leeds, Discovery Way, Leeds LS2 3AA.

Schedule
  • Module 1 - Strategy and Innovation (face to face)
    Monday 10th January 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 2 - Digital Adoption (online)
    Monday 17th January 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 3 - Internationalisation and Winning New Markets - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 26th January 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 4 - Vision, Mission and Values (online)
    Monday 31st January 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 5 - Developing a Marketing Strategy (online)
    Monday 7th February 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 6 - Building a Brand Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 16th February 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 7 - Organisational Design (online)
    Monday 21st February 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 8 - Employee Engagement and Leading Change (online)
    Monday 28th February 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 9 - High Performance Workplace - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 9th March 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 10 - Efficient Operations (online)
    Monday 14th March 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 11 - Finance and Financial Management (online)
    Monday 21st March 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 12 - Implementing Growth Plans - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 30th March 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm

Register for course starting on Monday 24 January 2022 (York) – One place remaining

Register now

Seven online sessions, and five face to face sessions at DoubleTree by Hilton York, St Maurice's Rd, York, YO31 7JA.

Schedule
  • Module 1 - Strategy and Innovation (face to face)
    Monday 24th January 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 2 - Digital Adoption (online)
    Monday 31st January 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 3 - Internationalisation and Winning New Markets - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 9th February 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 4 - Vision, Mission and Values (online)
    Monday 14th February 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 5 - Developing a Marketing Strategy (online)
    Monday 21st February 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 6 - Building a Brand Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 2nd March 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 7 - Organisational Design (online)
    Monday 7th March 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 8 - Employee Engagement and Leading Change (online)
    Monday 14th March 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 9 - High Performance Workplace - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 23rd March 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 10 - Efficient Operations (online)
    Monday 28th March 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 11 - Finance and Financial Management (online)
    Monday 4th April 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 12 - Implementing Growth Plans - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 13th April 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm

Register for course starting on Tuesday 8 February 2022 (Leeds)

Register now

Seven online sessions, and five face to face sessions at at Nexus - University of Leeds, Discovery Way, Leeds LS2 3AA.

Schedule
  • Module 1 - Strategy and Innovation (face to face)
    Tuesday 8th February 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 2 - Digital Adoption (online)
    Tuesday 15th February 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 3 - Internationalisation and Winning New Markets - Case Study (face to face)
    Thursday 24th February 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 4 - Vision, Mission and Values (online)
    Tuesday 1st March 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 5 - Developing a Marketing Strategy (online)
    Tuesday 8th March 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 6 - Building a Brand Case Study (face to face)
    Thursday 17th March 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 7 - Organisational Design (online)
    Tuesday 22nd March 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 8 - Employee Engagement and Leading Change (online)
    Tuesday 29th March 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 9 - High Performance Workplace - Case Study (face to face)
    Thursday 7th April 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 10 - Efficient Operations (online)
    Tuesday 26th April 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 11 - Finance and Financial Management (online)
    Tuesday 3rd May 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 12 - Implementing Growth Plans - Case Study (face to face)
    Thursday 12th May 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm

Register for course starting on Tuesday 8 March 2022 (York)

Register now

Seven online sessions, and five face to face sessions at at DoubleTree by Hilton York, St Maurice's Rd, York, YO31 7JA.

Schedule
  • Module 1 - Strategy and Innovation (face to face)
    Tuesday 8th March 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 2 - Digital Adoption (online)
    Tuesday 15th March 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 3 - Internationalisation and Winning New Markets - Case Study (face to face)
    Thursday 24th March 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 4 - Vision, Mission and Values (online)
    Tuesday 29th March 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 5 - Developing a Marketing Strategy (online)
    Tuesday 5th April 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 6 - Building a Brand Case Study (face to face)
    Thursday 28th April 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 7 - Organisational Design (online)
    Tuesday 3rd May 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 8 - Employee Engagement and Leading Change (online)
    Tuesday 10th May 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 9 - High Performance Workplace - Case Study (face to face)
    Thursday 19th May 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 10 - Efficient Operations (online)
    Tuesday 24th May 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 11 - Finance and Financial Management (online)
    Tuesday 31st May 2022, 10:00am-12:00pm
  • Module 12 - Implementing Growth Plans - Case Study (face to face)
    Thursday 9th June 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm

Register for course starting on Monday 21 March 2022 (Leeds)

Register now

Seven online sessions, and five face to face sessions at at Nexus - University of Leeds, Discovery Way, Leeds LS2 3AA.

Schedule
  • Module 1 - Strategy and Innovation (face to face)
    Monday 21st March 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 2 - Digital Adoption (online)
    Monday 28th March 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 3 - Internationalisation and Winning New Markets - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 6th April 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 4 - Vision, Mission and Values (online)
    Monday 25th April 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 5 - Developing a Marketing Strategy (online)
    Monday 2nd May 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 6 - Building a Brand Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 11th May 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 7 - Organisational Design (online)
    Monday 16th May 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 8 - Employee Engagement and Leading Change (online)
    Monday 23rd May 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 9 - High Performance Workplace - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 1st June 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm
  • Module 10 - Efficient Operations (online)
    Monday 6th June 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 11 - Finance and Financial Management (online)
    Monday 13th June 2022, 2:00pm-4:00pm
  • Module 12 - Implementing Growth Plans - Case Study (face to face)
    Wednesday 22nd June 2022, 1:00pm-5:00pm

If you would like more information then you can contact our dedicated team by emailing HelpToGrow@leeds.ac.uk.

About Leeds Univesity Business School

Small businesses are at the heart of our community. As a business school with a strong sense of place, we forge meaningful, enduring partnerships with small businesses in the region and support their growth.

Find out more about how we support small business in the region.