Economics Division Partnership Award Success

Congratulations to Economics Division students and staff who were recognised in the recent Leeds University Business School Partnership Awards.

The Partnership Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements, commitments and impact of students, staff and postgraduate researchers at the Business School.

Economics was awarded the main Business School Partnership Award for showing exceptional impact, and had the highest number of student and staff nominations.  

Particular congratulations go to Economics Division students representatives Rebecca McCaw, Nikita Wad, Gary Kirby and Nour Hammad, who all received nominations in the Academic Rep of the Year category, for their fantastic work representing students.

Rebecca McCaw, who won the school rep award, was praised for working tirelessly to represent students, regularly seeking student feedback, providing excellent advocacy, insight and leadership, and being an outstanding chair of the student-staff forum.

Nikita Wad, the Course Rep winner, was commended for being an extremely dedicated first year course rep, showing great energy and initiative in representing students, finding intelligent solutions to problems, and working in an inclusive way to make sure all voices are heard.

Also celebrated was  Economics PhD candidate Chau Chu, who received the Postgraduate Teaching award. Chau was praised for being a brilliant and articulate teacher, doing a fantastic job of engaging students, all whilst engaging in her own research, without any loss of effectiveness or enthusiasm.

Economics Division Partnership Award winners

Academic Rep of the Year
School Rep Winner: Rebecca McCaw (Economics)

Course Rep Winner: Nikita Wad (Economics)

Postgraduate Teaching:

Winner: Chau Minh Chu (Economics)


Winner: Mike Reynolds (Economics)

Inspirational Teaching

Winner: Juliane Scheffel (Economics)

Equality and Inclusion

Winner: Peter Hughes (Economics)

Positive Impact

Winner: Helen Greaves (Economics)

Partnership Award

Winner: Economics Division